RSS Feeds – PostSecret

I’m so confused at the difference between this post and my Google Reader post, but I’m doing it anyway rather than question anything because it’s easier than arguing with whoever came up with this stupid course.

Notice how I’ll usually ramble before I get down to business?

….meep.

Okay! So one RSS Feed which I have actually been reading before it became a course requirement was PostSecret. I’m sure you guys have heard of it, but in case you’ve been living under a rock, allow me to blow your mind!

In a nut-shell, PostSecret is a mail project created by Frank Warren, where people will anonymously send “post cards” (I put quotation marks because often they can be pictures they’ve drawn or taken, and aren’t the stereotypical post cards we all know of) with a secret of theirs written on it. Once a week new postcards are uploaded to the blog. There have also been a few books made from the best secrets.

Image

Image

Some can be really funny, however the sheer honesty of most can be unsettling and sometimes just downright sad. The truth can be confronting, and what’s most disturbing at times is that you know someone out there is suffering, and you’re helpless of all the shit that’s happening in the world. That is by far the worst feeling.

Image

Image

The whole concept hits home though, that you are not alone. And something Frank Warren has said stuck with me;

โ€œSometimes I think we keep secrets for the wrong reasons. If we could instead find that right person to talk to we might find that talking about an embarrassing story or admitting our frailty might lead to a more authentic relationship with others or ourselves…Every single person has at least one secret that would break your heart. If we could just remember this, I think there would be a lot more compassion and tolerance in the world.โ€

Leave a Reply

